Blackboard Catalyst Award

Blackboard Catalyst Awards

The Blackboard Catalyst Awards honor those who push the boundaries of their educational programs and technology in order to deliver innovative and effective learning experiences.

Due to the ever-increasing popularity of the Catalyst Awards, we have decided to update the timeline of the award program. We will announce the 2015 award categories in the spring of 2015.

Also, due to the ever-increasing adoption of the Exemplary Course Program rubric and interest in the ECP Catalyst Award, we are making some exciting changes to expand the Exemplary Course Program. Starting in 2015, the program will run year-round, with expanded opportunities for course reviews and collaboration. Exemplary Course awards will be announced on a rolling basis. New ECP activities will start in early 2015, and we look forward to your continuing engagement in the professional development opportunities of this program.

To stay up to date on the latest Catalyst Awards and ECP information, please fill out this form.

Exemplary Course Award

The Exemplary Course Award recognizes faculty and course designers around the world who develop exciting and innovative courses that represent the very best in technology and learning. Courses are evaluated in four major areas (Course Design, Interaction & Collaboration, Assessment and Learner Support) by a peer group of Blackboard clients, a Reviewer Council, and Directors.

Learn more about the Exemplary Course Program >

Staff Development Award

The Staff Development Award honors those who use Blackboard solutions to support and enhance faculty and professional development skills to provide a better organization-wide learning experience. Submissions should focus on solutions for staff and/or instructor training, vocational training, or specialized professional development.

Student Impact Award

The Student Impact Award recognizes individuals and/or institutions that successfully increased levels of student engagement or retention through new academic, student support, or administrative strategies. Submissions should focus on how you fostered student success and provide quantitative evidence of that success.

Innovation Award

The Innovation Award recognizes those that think outside the box in areas such as, but not limited to, teaching and learning practices, software development, mobile innovation, cloud innovation, online program management, and more. The sky is the limit! Submissions can showcase innovative achievements at an academic and/or administrative level.

Innovative Blended Learning Award*

The Innovative Blended Learning Award recognizes a client outside of the U.S. and Canada whose innovative practices or policies serve as a model for blended or online learning. Their innovation resulted in improving the overall effectiveness, efficiency and success of blended/online learning and lead to improved student achievement in their institution. The sky is the limit! Submissions can showcase innovative achievements at an academic and/or administrative level.

*For clients outside the U.S. and Canada only


If you have questions about the awards or the submissions process, please email

See the Official Rules for the Catalyst Awards for more details .

Online Awards Software provided by WizeHive.